Monroe Symphony Orchestra


For over forty years, the Monroe Symphony Orchestra has provided live, symphonic music of high artistic quality for the education and enjoyment of the people of Northeast Louisiana and the region. The Symphony’s goals have included collaboration with other local and regional arts groups, bringing artists of national reputation to the community, providing opportunities for recognition of talented, young, Louisiana artists and seeking to reach out into the community with concerts that appeal to all segments of the population.

The Monroe Symphony Orchestra, founded in 1971, was organized as a community orchestra. The subscription season, presented from October through May, consists of classical concerts, pops concerts, and a family concert. The MSO also presents Sound Safari, an educational concert offered to third, fourth, and fifth graders. As a viable and highly visible part of the arts community, the MSO also contributes to the cultural development of northeast Louisiana by bringing notable conductors and artists of national and international renown to perform with the orchestra.

During this 46th season, the MSO continues to bring the best of symphonic music to our community with its subscription series. A Membership provides season subscribers with a package of 5 concerts and membership levels are available at many price points.



Clay Couturiaux is entering his twelfth season as Music Director and Conductor of the Monroe Symphony Orchestra. In service to the orchestra, Maestro Couturiaux works successfully to increase the annual budget, inspire the musicians to perform with outstanding artistic integrity, and offer the most interesting pops, standard, and contemporary programming to the patrons.

See also: Monroe Symphony League and Monroe Symphony Chorus

Programs of the Monroe Symphony Orchestra are supported by a grant from the Louisiana State Arts Council through the Louisiana Division of the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts as administered by the Northeast Louisiana Arts Council.